

CAS Lonnecticut Association of School Librarians Annual Awards, 2023

CT Association of School Librarians - Awards, Grants & Scholarships

The CASL awards are open for nominations and applicants through March 15, 2023!

CASL recognizes the importance of the relationships we build in our school communities:

Administrator's award

recognizes that special administrator who provides necessary support for improving media services through encouragement and adequate funding for program maintenance and improvement.

Pellerin award

honors a classroom teacher who participates in the necessary steps to establish an instructional partnership with the library media specialist.

CASL honors colleagues who have made outstanding contributions in the library field to students, faculty, and the community:

Clark Award

honors a CASL member for extensive service (at least 10 years) and outstanding contributions in the library media field to students, faculty, lay citizens, and/or instructional program of the school or school system or educational agency or institution wherein the nominee/applicant is employed.

Erickson Award

honors a person who has made an auspicious beginning in media services at the building level through contributions to the students, faculty, lay citizens, and/or instructional program of the school, school system, educational agency, or institution wherein the nominee/applicant is employed. The nominee/applicant, although new in the media profession in Connecticut, has been involved in media service for no more than five years.

Hilda and John Jay Award

honors a member who has made a significant contribution to the profession through publication of an article or book, implementation of a professional development activity, significant work on a national-level committee, teaching of a graduate-level course for library media teachers, or utilization of a new technology to streamline CASL's operation. Applicants must have completed two of these tasks within the last three years.

Kwidzinski Service Award

is designed to honor a person who has made an outstanding contribution to CASL and/or the library community. This award is unique in that nominations are initiated by current or past members of the CASL board.

CASL recognizes members with awards and grants for outstanding programs that demonstrate creativity, collaboration, and integration into the school's curriculum:

Collaboration Grant

recognizes the relationship between the library media specialist (LMS) and one or more teachers and is measured by the extent of co-planning, co-teaching, and co-assessing by the LMS and one or more classroom teachers. The award winner receives \$500.

Creativity Award

recognizes an outstanding creative instructional lesson that integrates subject content with school library learning standards and technology. The award winner receives \$500.

The Yesner Award

The Bernice "Bunny" Yesner School Library Media Program of the Year Award honors exemplary school library programs that demonstrate implementation of AASL's *National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries.* The award winner receives \$1,000.

Carolyn Biega O'Neill Memorial Scholarship

CASL awards \$1,000 to a Connecticut resident enrolled in a Connecticut accredited graduate program or the Alternate Route to Certification (ARC) leading to certification as a School Library Media Specialist

CECA Award Educator Award

The CT Association of School Librarians, Technology Users Group annually grants up to three awards of \$1,000 each to recognize excellence in the integration of technology into classroom learning.

ISTE Making IT Happen Award

honors outstanding educators and leaders who demonstrate extraordinary commitment, leadership, courage and persistence in improving digital learning opportunities for students.